Bournemouth University students received prizes for their co-creation projects

Bournemouth University’s Centre for Excellence in Learning (CEL) in collaboration with the Student Union (SUBU) presented an impressive ceremony on the 14th of February 2017 at the Student Centre to award certificates and prizes to some outstanding undergraduate students of the university. This was in recognition of their success in this year’s Student Led Co-creation Funding Scheme operated by CEL. The ceremony was chaired by Professor Gail Thomas, the Director of the Centre for Excellence in Learning and Mr Graham Beards, the University’s Director of Finance and Performance who handed out the certificates and cheques to the deserving students .

DSC01474DSC01445DSC01475 DSC01443DSC01457DSC01472

After a fiercely competitive process that saw several BU final year undergraduate students bid for funds to execute an innovative idea of their choice under the Student led Co-creation Funding Scheme , the following 14 projects were selected:

Name (s) Course Academic partner (s) Title of project
Alanna Jones BA (Hons) International Business Studies Dr Elvira Bolat The Quantified-self Towards the Health and Fitness Movement: Qualitative inquiry using Whatsapp
Anastasia Moraites BA (Hons) Business Studies with Project Management Dr Elvira Bolat #InstaFitness: Does InstaFitness lead to FitSpiration?
Anna Maria Rusanova BA (Hons) Events Management Dr. Nigel Williams Agile Events: A toolkit to apply Agile Project Management Methodologies to Event Management
Anni Eerik BA (Hons) Communication and Media Dr Salvatore Scifo ‘Voices From the Frontline of Homelessness’: An investigation into The Big Issue’s creation of alternative representations about homelessness
Chelsea Ifunanya Nwasike BA (Hons) Media Production Dr. Kevin McGhee Genetics for the public
Ellie Harrison BA (Hons) Business Studies Dr Elvira Bolat Be on topic, be on brand, be on time: Exploring whether the content is king in driving user engagement in the context of television brands
Emma Greenwood BA (Hons) Adult Nursing Dr Sue Baron Creative Communication
Felix Marrington-Reeve & Quentin Corker-Marin BA (Hons) Computer Visualisation and Animation, final year Dr. Reza Yousefzadeh Splash Dance
Gemma Kennedy BA (Hons) Business Studies Dr Elvira Bolat Let’s talk about HENRY: Investigating the impact social media has on luxury on consumption!
Joshua Thomas-Houlker, Edina Morris , Will Malkin BA (Hons) Computer Animation Arts Vicky Isley, Valery Adzhiev Pond Simulator
Louis Moore BA (Hons) English Dr Ann Luce Understanding Suicide: What role does social media play?
Megan Mayers LLB (Hons) Professor Dinusha Mendis BU Student Law Review
Toby Harper, Dawid Pekalski, Ellie Webb, Liam Richards BA (Hons) Politics; MA International Political Communication Darren Lilleker; Dan Jackson; Einar Thorsen; Anastasia Veneti US Election 2016
Zoe Shannon Furness and Natasha Jones BA (Hons) Computer Animation Arts Susan Sloan Major Project – ‘Libertad’

A group photo of the 2016/17 winners:


As in previous years, this year’s awards aim to support the development of collaborative projects that will lead to co-created outputs. Prior to announcing the winners of the competition, interested students identified a topic of relevance and an academic they would like to work with on the project.  Each contestant submitted a brief project plan with intended outcomes to a panel organised by the Centre for Excellence in Learning who reviewed them and selected deserving winners.

At the awards ceremony, successful students were given the opportunity to present a brief of their project. Amongst those who graced the event with their presence were academics, faculty deans, representatives from CEL and SUBU.

DSC01423DSC01489 DSC01428DSC01493DSC01414DSC01436DSC01494DSC01416DSC01429

Project reports will come through by Friday the 30th of June 2017 and a blogpost will be produced from each – watch this space! You can spread the news or take advantage of next year’s scheme. More information on the Student Led Co-creation Scheme can be accessed here.

After this year’s awards ceremony that took place yesterday, Graham Beards, the Director of Finance & Performance noted: “…so nice to see such a variety of research, and once again my congratulations to all students and staff who took  part”.

Hearty congratulations to all the winners!!!

Leave a Reply

Your details
  • (Your email address will not be published in your comment)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>