Our BU sabbatical officers are Faculty of Media and Communications ‘HEROs’

Our sabbatical officers this year (as every year!)  have been as amazing. The Faculty of Media and Communications (FMC) has a ‘Heros’ award for staff who make a significant difference, and amongst all of their other activities, our sabbatical students found time to arrange an equality and diversity afternoon. The photo shows them being awarded their certificatea and getting the ‘HEROES’ chocolates on behalf of the FMC Dean, Prof Mike Wilmore.

Pictured L-R Professor Debbie Holley, Head of CEL and a panellist (representing Prof Mike Wilmore for the Sabbatical ‘Hero’s award); VP Education Alex Hancox;  VP Activities Brooke Elias and VP Communities Ebony Harding.

You can read more about our sabbs Daniel Oluyomi Asaya (President); VP Activities Brooke Elias; VP Communities Ebony Harding; VP Education Alex Hancox and VP Welfare Charlie Souter-Phillips here:


and the blog post about the event the students arranged is here:

BU Students Union ‘How to thrive at university and beyond’ event!

=== extract from the event publicity ===

The Faculty of Media and Communication and SUBU are putting on a free event to help inspire both staff and students to thrive.

The How to Thrive at University and Beyond event takes place on Wednesday 18 April at 2pm in the Inspire lecture theatre, the Fusion building, Talbot Campus.

Leading industry speakers will fill the afternoon with inspirational talks, followed by a panel discussion and informal networking.

Guest speaker and BU graduate Trisha Lewis will speak about making human connections in business and avoiding the imposter syndrome.

The Head of Health and Safety at UNISON, Tracey Ayton Harding, will also be speaking about what you want and need to know about health and safety.

The panel discussion is an opportunity to ask experts about staying safe in the study and workplace, and to raise any issues about free speech, equality and diversity.









Leave a Reply

Your details
  • (Your email address will not be published in your comment)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>