AHRC nomination for Sue Sudbury

Dr. Sue Sudbury, senior lecturer in the Faculty of Media and Communication, along with two students have been shortlisted in the Innovation Category of the AHRC’s 2017 Research Film Awards.

Sudbury and her student-collaborators,  Xue Han (MA 3D Animation) and Charlie Mott (BA Multi-Media Journalism) co-created Hunger by the Sea, a short animation about food poverty.

“An increasing number of people in Britain today are using food banks so I wanted to give ‘a voice’ to some of the people who do.”

The film, Sudbury says, is the primary output of her research presenting the ‘human voice’ of foodbank clients to the general public, including policy makers and government officials.

The AHRC received hundreds of entries for the third annual Research in Film Awards. The judges included Richard Davidson-Houston of Channel 4, Jan Dalley, Arts Editor of the Financial Times, and Matthew Reisz from Times Higher Education. Twenty-five films have now been shortlisted in five different categories.

Writer and broadcaster Danny Leigh will host the awards ceremony at BAFTA on 9th November, when the winners of each award will be announced. Winners will receive a trophy and £2000 prize money to put towards their future filmmaking activities.

“This is the first time I have co-researched with students and I have found it an enriching experience”, Sudbury said. “I have learnt as much as I hope they have.”

Sudbury co-created with her collaborators with funding from the student research assistant scheme at Bournemouth University. Additionally, her colleagues Gary Hayton and Vitor Viela supported the production, along with the help of two student volunteers Laura Irving (MA Radio Production) and Shiyu Zhao (MA Sound Design).

To view the film: https://vimeo.com/234840520

Winners are announced November 9th. Good Luck Sue from all of us at BU!

Leave a Reply

Your details
  • (Your email address will not be published in your comment)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>