FLIE staff present at ‘Pedagogy and Practice when teaching and learning online’ national webinar


The University of Kent run a nationally influential Digital Education Webinar series, and its founder, Dr Phil Anthony of the University’s E-Learning Team was awarded the title of Learning Technologist of the Year 2021 by the Association for Learning Technology (ALT). This prestigious international prize, judged by an expert panel including leading scholars in digital education, recognises excellent practice and outstanding achievement in the field of Technology Enhanced Learning. Dr Anthony created the Digitally Enhanced Education (DEE) webinar series in 2020, an online event bringing together experts and prestigious speakers from around the world to share practice, exchange ideas and forge professional relationships. The DEE webinar series has a global audience of over 3,400 people and has focused on a range of topics including online pedagogy, digital accessibility, electronic assessment and post-pandemic teaching.

Thus some of the faculty Simulation team members were delighted to be invited along to present their work, ‘Martian Attack.. the story so far‘ and talk about the original work the paramedic team carried out (in Studland House car park!) during the pandemic. Moving forward this  year we have scaled up our aspirations and plan a series of ‘spin-off’ health scenarios from the main paramedic event.  Adam Bancroft, our paramedic programme leader, with John Moran, our Faculty Learning technologist and Debbie Holley co-presented on behalf of the wider team (Ursula Rolfe and Heidi Singleton) at the University of Kent event today, with 15 speakers and an audience of 268!

Interested in getting involved? Speak to Dr Ursula Rolfe, our faculty SIM lead and come along to our monthly meetings, contribute to our emergent strategy, join a team working on different scenarios or suggest your own ideas….

Leave a Reply

Your details
  • (Your email address will not be published in your comment)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>