Dr. Barbara Neuhofer

Dr. Barbara Neuhofer

Dr. Barbara Neuhofer is a Lecturer in Tourism and Hospitality Management at the Faculty of Management at Bournemouth University, UK.

Barbara researches, teaches, writes and speaks about consumer experiences and technologies and how technologies will transform and shape the way contemporary, consumer-driven and dynamic experiences are co-created.

In her PhD Thesis supervised by Prof Dimitrios Buhalis and Prof Adele Ladkin, she focused on “An Exploration of the Technology Enhanced Tourist Experience.” Barbara has written and co-authored a number of academic journal articles, book chapters and conference papers on tourist experiences, co-creation and the use of ICTs in services marketing and the tourism and hospitality industry.

For her academic achievements to date, Barbara was awarded the prestigious ITT PhD Student of the Year 2013 Award and was selected as one of the 15 winners (out of 107) of the  International PhD Student Competition 2013. Most recently, Barbara was awarded the 2nd Place ‘Journal Paper of the Year’ Award for her co-authored publication ‘Neuhofer, B., Buhalis, D. and Ladkin, A. 2014. A typology of technology enhanced tourism experiences, published in the International Journal of Tourism Research, awarded at the ENTER2015 conference in Lugano, Switzerland. She won several further prizes for her innovative and cutting-edge PhD research.

Barbara currently serves on the board of IFITT – International Federation for IT and Travel & Tourism as Treasurer and Director of IFITT Next Generation, following her re-election for a second term from 2015-2017. Barbara has also served as student committee chair of the PhD Workshop at ENTER2013 Conference, Innsbruck, Austria and overall co-chair of the IFITT Doctoral Summer School 2013, Bournemouth, UK.


Email address: bneuhofer@bournemouth.ac.uk

Leave a Reply

Your details
  • (Your email address will not be published in your comment)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>