Institute of Hospitality Southern Branch 4th annual ‘Student of the Year Awards’ at the Balmer Lawn Hotel in the New Forest

On Thursday 19th April the Institute of Hospitality Southern Branch held their 4th annual ‘Student of the Year Awards’ at the Balmer Lawn Hotel in the New Forest. The awards go to recognise outstanding student contribution in education to learning, development and professionalism within six award categories.  Bournemouth University International Hospitality Management student Emily Murray, who was nominated by her lecturer  Dr Charalampos Giousmpasoglou, was recognised by the institute by being voted the winner in the category ‘Hospitality Management Student of the Year’. The award, sponsored by Chewton Glen Hotel and Spa, was presented on the night by Graham Chambers of Chewton Glen and Jane C Devonshire (Masterchef Winner 2016). Emily said ‘I am delighted to be recognised by the institute for the hard work and commitment I show to my studies at Bournemouth’.

At the same glittering awards dinner Bournemouth University Senior Lecturer Crispin Farbrother received a commendation from the Institute as runner-up in the category ‘Inspirational Tutor of the Year’ (Commendation collected on his behalf by Dr Evangelia Marinakou). Crispin said ‘it was a pleasure just to be nominated for doing what I love and I am delighted to be runner-up in such a prestigious category with such fantastic competition’.

The Institute’s Chairman Richard Ward said, I was delighted by the strong showing from Bournemouth University in two of the award categories and look forward to  more great entries in future years’. Head of Department Professor Dimitrios Buhalis also presented the Bournemouth University Department of Tourism & Hospitality Award in the category ‘Apprentice Student of the Year’ to Reegan Graff of Kingston Maurward College. Dimitrios said ‘ we are delighted to recognise the awesome talent within hospitality education and congratulate Reegan on being voted the winner’.

Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>