Safety First

Bruce Grant-Braham from Bournemouth University’s School of Tourism won the coveted Guild of Motoring Writer’s Road Safety Award at a prestigious dinner held in the presence of Prince Michael of Kent at London’s  RAC Club in Pall Mall on Thursday 5th December.

Ben Schofield of the IAM presents the trophy to speechless Bruce Grant-Braham

Ben Schofield of the IAM presents the trophy to speechless Bruce Grant-Braham

Bruce won the Guild’s Safety Award, presented in memory of former IAM (Institute of Advance Motorists ) Chief Executive Christopher Bullock MBE, which was sponsored by the IAM.

Bruce’s award-winning book “The RAC Essential Driver’s Handbook” gives guidance to motorists about how to avoid or deal with a variety of emergencies that can occur whilst driving. It is specifically targeted at young drivers who may not anticipate how to cope with some of the pitfalls of motoring such as breakdowns, accidents or just being a lone driver.

Bruce’s book was especially praised for its depth of research in front of the two hundred diners.

“I was lost for words when my name was announced,” he said, “which will really surprise my students! A lot of content for the book has come through several decades of driving and then applying academic analysis with the help of the relevant experts.”

Ben Schofield, Communications Manager of the IAM, presented Bruce with the magnificent trophy at the much-anticipated event.

His Royal Highness Prince Michael of Kent was himself awarded The Guild of Motoring Writers’ brand new Special Award for Contribution to Motoring supported by Kia Motors UK.

Bruce’s book benefited from advice readily provided by Dorset’s Emergency Services and is published on behalf of the RAC by Veloce which is itself based in Poundbury in Dorchester.

2013 GOMW Award winners

2013 GOMW Award winners

By: Bruce Grant-Braham, 9th December 2013


Leave a Reply

Your details
  • (Your email address will not be published in your comment)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>