Barbara Neuhofer awarded ITT PhD Student of the Year Prize at ITT’s Annual Chairman’s Summer Cocktails

Last week Barbara Neuhofer was awarded the ITT PhD Student of the Year prize during the ITT’s Annual Chairman’s Summer Cocktails.

Barbara was nominated by Professor Dimitrios Buhalis, who has worked closely with Barbara in the e-Tourism lab. This is Dimitrios’ 2nd student in a row that has received the prestigious award as his PhD student Andrew Spencer was also awarded ITT PhD Student of the Year last year.

The event was held at The House of Commons and was sponsored by Dubai Tourism.

Guests were treated to a drinks reception and canapés before Dame Tessa Jowell MP presented the awards.

Barbara commented “I feel truly proud and honoured to receive this prestigious award by the Institute of Travel & Tourism. It is a great recognition for my PhD research and I am extremely grateful to Bournemouth University and to all the people who have supported me in my studies, in particular to my supervisor Prof. Dimitrios Buhalis. It was a privilege to celebrate this achievement in such a fantastic location, the House of Commons of the UK Parliament. It was a truly memorable evening for all of us.”

Professor Dimitrios Buhalis, Barbara’s supervisor, commented “This is a great recognition of the great progress that Barbara is doing in her PhD and the contribution to knowledge she is producing as evidenced in her publications and her community service through IFITT and other communities. I am particularly happy that this is the second student after Dr Andrew Spencer who won the ITT award last year and this is a testament to the cutting edge research we do at the eTourism Lab at Bournemouth University.”

Congratulations to Barbara on this incredible achievement!

One Response to “Barbara Neuhofer awarded ITT PhD Student of the Year Prize at ITT’s Annual Chairman’s Summer Cocktails”

Leave a Reply

Your details
  • (Your email address will not be published in your comment)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>