Great success for both BU Men’s and Women’s Volleyball teams, both securing medal’s at this weekend’s Volleyball England Student Cup.

The event was held at Sportspark, UEA. The Men’s and Women’s BU Volleyball squads competed in the Volleyball England Student Cup last weekend.
On the Women’s side, the team won three from three games in their pool rounds, beating UEA (Uni of East Anglia), Royal Holloway and ULU (University of London Union) 2-0 to place top of their group.
The Men’s team dominated their group, winning all three of their group games, beating Cardiff, Oxford and Nottingham comfortably 2-0.
Starting Sunday’s competition, the Men faced Loughborough in the quarter final with a confident 2-0 win to progress to the top 4. The Women’s team faced a strong UCD (University of Dublin) side but dominated in a 2-0 win to progress into the semi-finals.
The Women’s shortly lost out on a place in the final to eventual runners up Newcastle University, but then won their 3rd/4th place playoff by default to place higher than ever before and finish in the bronze medal position. On the other side, the Men cruised through the semi-finals VS Essex University to face Durham in the final.
After a tough first set, the Men went 1-0 (23-25), but came back fighting with a 25-23 win in the second set to take it to a decider. The final set was point for point the whole way, but with a couple of errors from the men they went 8-11 down. But they fought to get level and after having 5 championship points and saving one, they became victorious at 20-18.
MVP was given to captain Andrea Ivanov, for the third year running, as well as the winning trophy.

Women’s captain Jade Butcher, said: “I’m incredibly proud of the whole squad this weekend, it felt like a complete team performance. To have our Women’s team place higher than ever before in third and our Men to come back from in an extremely high pressure final is amazing. Roll on what BUCS Finals!’

WOMEN: Jade Butcher (Capt), Stacey Fullerton (Capt), Sophie Turnock, Meghan Fahy, Samantha Celek, Paulina Machalikova, Zenia Papasynefaki, Electra Vasiloudi, Robyn Wisdom, Beth Nagel, Rebecca Hagstrom, Poppy McLaughlin.

MEN: Andrea Ivanov (Capt), Alex Courbat (Vice Capt), Issa Batrane, Kevin Baker, Luca Rahnasto, Matt Hunter, Constantin Schrek, Dominic Wisom, Tobi Shatimehin, Kyriacos Miliotis, Neoklis Grigoriou, Kieran Yon.

Tagged on:             

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *